FDH Bank Cup Draw: Bullets Reserves to face Steffords/Mangochi Utd


Nyasa Big Bullets Reserves will face the winner between Max Steffords and Mangochi United in the qualifying round of the inaugural FDH Bank Cup.

The draw for the qualifying round involving regional teams was conducted by the Football Association of Malawi (FAM) and FDH Bank officials on Wednesday morning.

The second tier side will join the competition in the second round after it was seeded alongside three other teams.

62 teams (20 from the South, 24 Centre and 18 north) went into a draw that will determine the 16 teams to join 16 TNM Super League teams for a national draw.

The Southern Region will have two rounds. In round one top four teams as per the 2019 SRFA Log table were seeded and the remaining 16 teams will battle for eight slots in the second round where they will be joined by the four seeded teams.  In the second the 12 teams will battle it out for the six slots in the national draw.

The Centre will have two rounds of matches where in round one all the 24 teams will play to determine 12 teams to qualify for the last round that will produce the six teams for the national draw.

The Northern region will have three rounds of matches to determine the four teams that will qualify for the National Phase

From the 18 participating teams, nine teams that participated in 2019 season were seeded. The remaining nine teams, which have just joined the league this season, were put in one pot where four teams were drawn to play in two playoff matches.

For round one, the two playoffs’ winners joined the nine seeded teams and the other five teams for the first round of 16 teams to identify eight teams to qualify for the second round.

The Regional Preliminary Round matches will be played between 29 May- 13 June 2021.

Southern Region Football League

Round 1

1. Neno Giants vs Bangwe All Stars

2. Chinamwali Stars vs Wanderers Reseves

3. Max Steffords vs Mangochi United

4. Zomba Airbase vs Prison United

5. The Boys vs FOMO

6. Changalume Barracks vs Immigration

7. Polytechnic vs Wizards FC

8. Nyasa United vs White Eagles

Round 2

9. Winner match 5 vs Winner match 6

10. Sable Farming vs Blantyre City FC

11. Winner match 3 vs Nyasa Big Bullets Reserves

12. Winner match 1 vs winner match 8

13. Winner match 7 vs winner match 4

14. Winner match 2 vs MDF Marine

Central Region Football Association

First Round

1.Ekas Freight vs Support Battalion

2. Mitundu Strikers vs Kasungu Police

3. Silver Strikers Reserve vs Kawinga FC

4. Dedza Young Soccer vs Ascent academy

5. Mtsiriza United vs Extreme FC

6. Ntcheu Strikers vs Mbavi United

7. Dedza Dynamos vs St Gabriel Medicals

8. Luanar FC vs Mchinji Boma Boys

9. Airborne Rangers vs Green Rangers

10. Dwangwa United vs Chitedze Strikers

11. Ngolowindo FC vs KB Youth

12. Wimbe United vs Simbi FC

Second Round

13. Winner match 9 vs winner 6

14. Winner match 2 vs winner match 8

15. Winner match 1 vs winner match 7

16. Winner match 5 vs winner match 4

17. Winner match 3 vs winner match 11

18. Winner match 10 vs winner match 12

Northern Region Football League


1. Chibaka FC vs Kande FC

2. Rapidly FC vs Chitipa Stars

First Round

1. Winner play off 1 vs winner play off two

2. Embangweni FC vs Chilumba Barracks

3. Luwinga United vs Chintheche United

4. Bake City vs Ekwendeni Hard Knockers

5. Favored Stars vs Ng’onga FC

6 KV FC vs Bright Stars

7. Mwanyamula FC vs Rumphi United

8. Ekwendeni United vs Rumphi Mighty Wanderers

Second Round

9. Winner match 6 vs winner match 7

10. Winner match 4 vs winner match 5

11. Winner match 3 vs winner match 2

12. Winner match 1 vs winner match 8

Related Posts

Latest News


Follow Us

Scroll to Top