Bullets are 2020/21 TNM Super League champs!


Nyasa Big Bullets have won the TNM Super League title for the third time in a row following Mighty Wanderers’ 1-3 defeat to Blue Eagles on Sunday afternoon at Kamuzu Stadium.

Before the match, Wanderers needed all the three points to remain in contention for the 2020/21 championship as Bullets had registered a vital 0-3 away victory over Kamuzu Barracks on Saturday, whilst fellow contenders Silver Strikers lost 0-2 to Moyale Barracks on the same day.

The Central Bankers’ loss away at Mzuzu Stadium meant only Bullets and Wanderers were the two teams to battle for the championship.

However, Wanderers’ defeat means Bullets have won the championship without kicking the ball ahead of their final match against Karonga United to be played at Kamuzu Stadium after the international break.

Bullets, who have 59 points, four ahead of the Central Bankers and five ahead of the Nomads, will now be targeting to finish the season on a very high note having suffered some setbacks in the course of their title defence.

But Kalisto Pasuwa’s side will not be able to beat last season’s 70 point mark, which saw them beating Wanderers to the title when their neighbors were also beaten by the same Blue Eagles to finish with 69 points.

A win over Karonga United will see Bullets finishing the season with 62 points, eight points short of what they achieved last season.

It will also be a remarkable season for Pasuwa, who has now won the title for the third consecutive season after taking over in 2018.

It was a campaign marked by twists and turns right up until the final weeks of the competition, but it is Bullets who have once again proved that consistency is the only key towards title defence.

Related Posts

Latest News


Follow Us