Airtel Top 8 returns


The Airtel Top 8 returns next year following a break in the 2020/21 season, it has been announced.

Football Association of Malawi (FAM) and Airtel Malawi Plc Limited on Wednesday signed a new three-year-deal for the cup competition.

Making the announcement of their return in Blantyre, Airtel also revealed the adjustment of the sponsorship package from K198 million to K234 million, with the winner guaranteed a whopping K17 million from K15 million.

FAM president Walter Nyamilandu, speaking during the ceremony, said he never doubted the coming back of the cup despite the current economic hardship caused by the Covid-19 pandemic.

“To raise the sponsorship package from K198 million to K234 million during this difficult period of Covid-19 is a huge favor to football family. We had a blip in one of the finals, but we passed the test and you have returned with an improved offer, we are grateful.

“This cup is the most competitive elite club competition because it is participated by top eight teams and this will make the players active by fighting not only for money, but also to finish in the top eight so that they take part in the tournament. This cup will make the elite football very exciting and we are very thankful to Airtel for making football happen again,” said Nyamilandu.

On his part, Airtel Malawi chief executive officer, Charles Kamoto, said his company decided to come back because they always love and believe in football.

“At Airtel, we believe in football, we love football and that’s why we are here. We are happy to announce the coming back of the cup for another three years and with an improved package. We are very grateful to the media, the fans and FAM for the continuous support rendered to our company throughout, hence the decision to come back again,” he said.

The Airtel Top 8 will be played next season. With the winner taking home K17 Million, the second- placed team will get K5 million.

The sponsors will also dish out K1 million to each participating team. Top goal scorer will take home K500,000 and Man of the Match will be getting K50,000 each game.

Nyasa Big Bullets are yet to win the cup since its introduction in 2017.

The People’s Team was banned from participating in the 2019 edition following scenes of violence in the 2018 finals against Blue Eagles as fans protested against the referee’s decision to award the Lilongwe side a penalty.

Related Posts

Latest News


Follow Us

Scroll to Top