Six Bullets players called up to Scorchers COSAFA squad


In a 32-player squad list, six of Nyasa Big Bullets Women stars have been called up for Thom Nkolongo’s Malawi side for the 2022 Cosafa Women’s Championship scheduled for Gqeberha, South Africa from August 31-September 11.

Bullets Women together with DD Sunshine players dominate the list, with both teams contributing six players each to the national squad.

After missing out last year’s Cosafa games, Bullets Women goalkeeper, Martha Banda, has been recalled following her impressive start to the 2022 FAM Women’s League. The custodian has kept two clean sheets from the two games she has been in goals.

Striker Mary Chavinda, who has scored 16 goals from three matches to drive up Maggie Chombo’s side to the top spot of the standings. And with that form, another national team call up, comes as no surprise.

Emily Jossam and Bernadetta Mkandawire have been true stalwarts at the heart of Bullets Women defense in the early stages of this season and are on the list as well.

For the 19-year-old Mkandawire, the youngest among the six of our players on the list, this is only her second call up to the Malawi squad and it will come as a chance for her to assert her place in Nkolongo’s team.

Bullets Women two midfield players, who have been catalysts for our free-scoring form this season, Zainab Kapanda and Vanessa Chikupira, have also made it on the list.

The Scorchers will head into camp in Lilongwe on Monday, August 15, following Saturday’s draw in South Africa, where Malawi was drawn against Tanzania, Botswana and Comoros in Group C.

The Scorchers will hope to go for the ultimate prize this time at the 2022 Cosafa Games to put past the disappointment of finishing as runners-up last year after being edged out 1-0 by Tanzania in the final.

Below is the full squad:

Goalkeepers: Ruth Mhango (DD Sunshine), Fortune Bwitubwitu (MK Academy), Martha Banda (Nyasa Big Bullets Women), Mercy Sikelo (Ntopwa).

Defenders: Ruth Nyirongo (DD Sunshine), Emily Jossam (Nyasa Big Bullets Women), Mphatso Gondwe (DD Sunshine), Fatsireni Kazembe (Civil Service United Women), Patricia Nyirenda (Lusaka Dynamos), Chimwemwe Madise (Lusaka Dynamos), Zeni Duda (Civil Service United Women), Ireen Khumalo (Ascent Academy), Benardetta Mkandawire (Nyasa Big Bullets Women)

Midfielders: Madyina Nguluwe (DD Sunshine), Zainab Kapanda (Nyasa Big Bullets Women), Thandie Birima (Topik), Carolyne Mathyola (DD Sunshine), Vanesa Chikupira (Nyasa Big Bullets Women), Grace Yotamu (Ntopwa), Catherine Gauti (Ascent Academy), Asimenye Simwaka (Topik), Chikondi Gondwe (CY Sisters), Jessy Joseph (Civil Service United Women), Wezzie Mvula (DD Sunshine).

Strikers: Mary Chavinda (Nyasa Big Bullets Women), Sabina Thom (Simba SC – Tanzania), Fazira Chiyembekezo (Rivers Angels – Nigeria), Vitumbiko Kumwenda (CY Sisters), Rose Kabzere (Ascent Academy), Marriam Mnenura (Ascent Academy), Tabitha Chawinga (Wuhan Jiangda – China), Temwa Chawinga (Wuhan Jiangda – China).

Related Posts

Latest News


Follow Us