Exit full screenEnter Full screen

Six Bullets stars named in Mabedi’s latest Malawi squad


Four of our first team players and a duo from our reserves will remain with the senior Malawi national team after coach Patrick Mabedi included them in his latest 30-man provisional squad call-up.

Mabedi has picked defender Blessings Mpokera, midfielders Patrick Mwaungulu, Frank Willard and Lanjesi Nkhoma from the first team, while goalkeeper Austin Chirambo and midfielder Chrispin Mapemba have joined the Flames from our reserves.

The six are the same Bullets players Mabedi called up into Flames camp in preparation for the Cosafa Senior Challenge Cup last month, excluding Mpokera, who is in for the injured Alick Lungu.

Also on the squad list, which up until next Thursday will fully camp for the TotalEnergies Africa Cup of Nations 2023 qualifier in September, are two Bullets on-loan players Yamikani Mologeni and Mphatso Magaleta, who are having a great Super League season with Ekwendeni Hammers and Bangwe All Stars, respectively.

On September 9, Malawi will host Guinea at the Bingu National Stadium in Lilongwe in what will be their last Group D match.

The call-up comes as a timely boost to our first team players, who a day from now, will host Dragon FC from Equatorial Guinea in the return leg of the CAF Champions League first preliminary round in Lilongwe.

On the same Sunday, Mapemba and Chirambo will look to cement Bullets Reserves’ top spot in the Southern Region Football League with an away win against Changalumbe Barracks in Zomba.

We therefore wish our selected players to have the honour of representing Malawi the best of luck.

Below is the full latest Flames squad:

Goalkeepers: Innocent Nyasulu (Mighty Wakawaka Tigers), George Chikooka (Chitipa United), Austin Chirambo (FCB Nyasa Big Reserves).

Defenders: Stanley Sanudi, Lawrence Chaziya (Mighty Mukuru Wanderers), Mark Lameck (Blue Eagles FC), Nickson Mwase, Tatenda M’balaka (Silver Strikers), Blessings Mpokera (FCB Nyasa Big Bullets) Chimwemwe Nkhoma (Mayamiko Stars), Yamikani Mologeni (Bangwe All Stars), Daniel Chimbalanga (MAFCO), Alex Kambilinya (Mighty Wakawaka Tigers), Denis Chembezi (Unattached).

Midfielders: Robert Gomez Saizi (Bangwe All Stars), Lanjesi Nkhoma, Frank Willard, Patrick Mwaungulu (FCB Nyasa Big Bullets), Lloyd Aaron (Civil Service United), Chimwemwe Idana (Unattached), Chikondi Kamanga (Silver Strikers), Wongani Lungu (Ekwendeni Hammers), Chrispine Mapemba (FCB Nyasa Big Bullets Reserves), Blessings Singini (Ekwendeni Hammers), Wisdom Mpinganjira, Francisco Madinga (Mighty Mukuru Wanderers), Ben Manyozo (Mighty Wakawaka Tigers).

Strikers: Christopher Kumwembe (Mighty Mukuru Wanderers) Clement Nyondo (Dedza Dynamos) Mphatso Magaleta (Ekwendeni Hammers).

Related Posts

Latest News


Follow Us