Seven Bullets named in Malawi Afcon squad to face Guinea


The People’s Team has contributed the highest number of players in Patrick Mabedi’s final Malawi squad set to host Guinea in the TotalEnergies African Cup of Nations qualifiers on September 9 at the Bingu National Stadium.

Seven players from Bullets have made the final cut as the interim Flames coach named his latest team to face Kaba Diawara’s side in what will be Malawi’s last Afcon qualifier in Group D.

Five of our first team players; goalkeeper Clever Mkungula, defender Blessings Mpokera and midfielders Frank Willard, Lanjesi Nkhoma and Peter Banda as well as a duo from our reserves in goalkeeper Austin Chirambo and midfielder Chrispin Mapemba, will remain with senior Flames in camp in Lilongwe for the match this weekend.

Excluding Mpokera, who is in for the injured Alick Lungu, and Banda, who has just rejoined us from Simba SC, the five others are the same Bullets players Mabedi travelled with for the COSAFA Senior Challenge Cup in South Africa in July.

Also on the squad list, is one Bullets player on loan at Bangwe All Stars, Yamikani Mologeni, who is enjoying an excellent debut TNM Super League season and has been voted Man of the Match in three league matches.

We wish our selected players to represent Malawi the best of luck!

The following is the entire squad:

Goalkeepers: Brighton Munthali (Black Leopards), Clever Mkungula (FCB Nyasa Big Bullets), Austin Chirambo (FCB Nyasa Big Reserves).

Defenders: Stanley Sanudi, Lawrence Chaziya (Mighty Mukuru Wanderers), Mark Lameck (Blue Eagles FC), Nickson Mwase, Tatenda M’balaka (Silver Strikers), Blessings Mpokera (FCB Nyasa Big Bullets), Yamikani Mologeni (Bangwe All Stars), Daniel Chimbalanga (MAFCO), Denis Chembezi (Unattached).

Midfielders: Robert Gomez Saizi (Bangwe All Stars), Lanjesi Nkhoma, Frank Willard, Peter Banda (FCB Nyasa Big Bullets), Lloyd Aaron (Civil Service United), Chikondi Kamanga (Silver Strikers), Wongani Lungu (Ekwendeni Hammers), Chrispine Mapemba (FCB Nyasa Big Reserves), Wisdom Mpinganjira, Francisco Madinga (Mighty Mukuru Wanderers), John Banda, (Costa Dol Sol).

Strikers:  Christopher Kumwembe (Mighty Mukuru Wanderers), Adiel Kaduya (Silver Strikers), Chawanangwa Kaonga (Zanaco), Richard Mbulu (Costa Dol Sol).

Related Posts

Latest News


Follow Us